There are five kinds of liberation:

1) attaining the planet where the Lord resides.
2) associating with the Lord.
3) attaining a transcendental body like the Lord’s.
4) attaining opulence like the Lord
5) merging into the existence of the Lord

A devotee has no particular interest in any of these types of liberation. He is satisfied simply by being engaged in the transcendental loving service of the Lord. A devotee is especially averse to merging into the existence of the Lord and losing his individual identity. Indeed, a devotee considers oneness with the Lord to be hellish. He will, however, accept one of the four other kinds of liberation in consideration for being engaged in the service of the Lord. Out of the two possibilities of merging in transcendence – namely becoming one with the impersonal Brahman effulgence and becoming one with the Personality of Godhead – the latter is more abominable to the devotee. The devotee has no aspiration another than engaging in the transcendental loving service of the Lord. One who does not understand the transcendental nature of the body of Krishna becomes Krishna’s enemy and defies or fights with Him. The enemies eventually merge into the Lord’s Brahman effulgence. Such mukti or liberation into the Brahman effulgence is never desired by the Lord’s devotees.

Source: A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada (2012 edition), “Teachings of Lord Caitanya, The Golden Avatara”, Page 323


(Visited 101 times, 1 visits today)